Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Alaska State House Rating: None

Alaska Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Juneau Email This Bookmark Print
Alaska was one of the last states to be accepted into the Union, gaining statehood only in 1959. As such, it does not have majestic centuries-old capitol buildings that other states have. However, this does not mean the Alaskan capitol fails in comparison.

The Alaska State House is the seat of government of the Alaska. Located in Juneau, it houses the offices of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and the Alaska Legislature. Construction of the building was finished in 1931. Previously known as the Federal and Territorial Building, it was intended as chambers for the federal government. After gaining statehood in 1959, the building was eventually converted as the seat of Alaskan government.

The Art Deco state house is a six-storey high building made from brick, reinforced concrete and Indiana limestone. The four columns of the portico is Tokeen marble. Unlike other state capitols, this state house does not feature any dome.
Edit Article

Alaska State House Pictures Add Picture

Alaska State House Videos Add Video