Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > New York > Albany
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-15-2010, 01:57 PM  

Albany, NY
Homebrewers in the area?

Since I've been recommended to check this site out by HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community., I thought I'd see where all of the homebrewers are around here. I have 2 ciders in the primary right now and will be brewing a pale ale within the next week hopefully. Anyone else around here enjoy brewing?

Old 11-18-2010, 05:19 PM  

Albany, New York
I homebrew/homedrinkbeer as well in Albany. I have been brewing for a few years on and off depending on living quarters. I've decided to brew whenever i can lately, so i have a cream ale bottled for a few months, a heavy IPA bottled last weekend, imperial stout in a long secondary waiting for the New Year, and waiting on barley wine ingredients to brew in the coming weeks for the following fall.

Where abouts in Smalbany are you, dap?

Old 11-20-2010, 09:16 PM  

Albany, NY
Grew up in Albany, moved to Guilderland for a few years, now I'm back off Central Ave. Do you brew extract or all grain? I'm slowly saving for an all grain setup, but I'm not there yet. I really hope to find the time soon for a lot of brewing. Free time is hard to come by! Sounds like you have some pretty good stuff in the works. I need to get a big stout/barleywine started soon too so it'll be ready for next winter/holiday season.
Old 11-21-2010, 10:00 AM  

Albany, New York
I do extract brews. I have been reading a little about doing partial or mini mash brews. Doesn't require alot of extra equipment and gives more control over the beer.

I feel you on the free time. I base all my brewing on what weekends i have a free day. And it helped being laid off for the summer.
Old 11-23-2010, 09:36 AM  

Evans Mills, NY