Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Business / Investing
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-12-2010, 06:37 PM  

Hemet, Ca
Business Discussion

Its me again. Im writing to get some input. I own a Window Cleaning Business, cant list the name because is would be advertising on the forum, but like most business owners out there we are always trying to figure out creative ways to reach customers. Without customers we would not be in business. I would like to hear your ideas and suggestions. Currently Im going door to door and hanging door hangers and also walking the strip malls soliciting for work. I have picked up some customers, but like any business owner the more customers the merryer. Thanks and I can't wait to read the suggestions.

Old 12-12-2010, 07:32 PM  

Sammamish, WA
I have been a business owner for nearly 20 years, and the last thing I would do is door hangers. Actually, that is second to last, after telemarketing. Why? People hate it. It's really annoying to get things left on your door or doorstep, or car. When I get them they go straight to the trash without a look.

My business is directed to other business, not residents, so that wouldn't have done much good anyway. In your case, it seems that a good steady business contracts for commercial buildings would be a great target. In my sign business I sent mailings with follow-up visits to the managers of large commercial buildings, resulting in outdoor parking signage work, as well as indoor and outdoor directories and other things. A few of the smaller ones had their own staff to clean windows but most hired outside companies such as yours.

Strip malls vary, you might get some tenant work there, but even many of those have an outside company do all the exterior glass so you should also talk to the management people.