Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Business / Investing
Click Here to Login

Old 01-21-2012, 02:22 PM  
Administrator

Missouri
Self-employed

Those who are self-employed, how do you promote yourself? I have been a flooring installer for almost 40 years. The last couple years work has just died.

I have posted cards, flyers, run ads, talked to real estate agents, gone to flooring stores, called old customers etc.

Anyone have any new ideas?

Old 01-21-2012, 04:08 PM  

Sammamish, WA
Sorry, if I had any good ideas I wouldn't have closed up my business in
early 2010. People either have no money or don't want to risk spending it, and in your line of work there has been no new construction going on. I have noticed a few housing developments starting back up in the area, so maybe things will improve soon.

My customers were business people like you that couldn't afford my services
any more as theirs began to slow down or fail.

As a former sign shop owner, I will say that a good truck/van lettering job is a great one-time investment that provides advertising wherever you go, but most likely you have already done that.

Old 01-21-2012, 04:21 PM  
Administrator

Missouri
I did sign painting years ago, so I lettered my own. Then my agent told me it would double my insurance so I painted over it. Can't afford to raise any expenses.
Old 01-21-2012, 05:40 PM  

Sammamish, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by samfloor View Post
I did sign painting years ago, so I lettered my own. Then my agent told me it would double my insurance so I painted over it. Can't afford to raise any expenses.