Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Minnesota
Click Here to Login

Reply
Old 03-23-2011, 02:05 PM  
Homebrewer
 
Jerryalan's Avatar

Lindstrom, MN
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58 | Kudos: +10
Electricians North of the Cities

Does anyone know of a licensed electrician who does work North of the Cities? I'm in Lindstrom and am having a tough time getting electricians to submit an estimate.

I want to have a 100Amp sub-panel installed in my attached garage. The location is about 60 feet from the main panel in the finished basement. Rambler home.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Jerry - Lindstrom, MN
Craft Beer Potluck
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:35 PM  
Junior Member

mn
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25 | Kudos: +11
as a owner you can do it your self ,,, get a permit and as long as you say you are doing it ,, you can get it inspected ,,
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:38 PM  
Junior Member

mn
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25 | Kudos: +11
as the owner you can get a permit and do it your self , if someone you know can help you they can ,, do it have it inspected ,, enjoy .....
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:31 AM  
Homebrewer
 
Jerryalan's Avatar

Lindstrom, MN
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58 | Kudos: +10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomj View Post
as a owner you can do it your self ,,, get a permit and as long as you say you are doing it ,, you can get it inspected ,,
I'm seriously considering that. My problem is that the wire I need is only available on 500 foot spools. I'm still shopping around but not having much luck.

So I suppose a secondary question is: Where can I get around 100 feet of 2-2-2-4 SER Aluminum wire around the Twin Cities area?
__________________
Jerry - Lindstrom, MN
Craft Beer Potluck
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:06 PM  
Junior Member

mn
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25 | Kudos: +11
why Aluminum ???? you need to make the connections with special connectors
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 08:25 AM  
Homebrewer
 
Jerryalan's Avatar

Lindstrom, MN
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58 | Kudos: +10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomj View Post
why Aluminum ???? you need to make the connections with special connectors
Cheaper than copper. I'll have to shop around and see how much cheaper. If it's not that much more then I'll go with copper.
__________________
Jerry - Lindstrom, MN
Craft Beer Potluck
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 08:37 AM  
Senior Member
 
havasu's Avatar

California
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,747 | Kudos: +238
Images: 17
Stay away from aluminum as you will regret it! Take it from someone with much regret!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:21 AM  
Lost in Minnesota
 
fillerup's Avatar

St. Paul, Minnesota
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 46 | Kudos: +10
Graybar or Viking Electric should have everything you are looking for.
I use both suppliers at work.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 12:12 AM  
Homebrewer
 
Jerryalan's Avatar

Lindstrom, MN
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 58 | Kudos: +10
What would be the copper equivalent to 2-2-2-4 aluminum?

The research I've done so far suggests that 2-2-2-4 aluminum is plenty for 100A sub panel. Is this wrong?
__________________
Jerry - Lindstrom, MN
Craft Beer Potluck
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 12:17 AM  
Senior Member
 
havasu's Avatar

California
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,747 | Kudos: +238
Images: 17
I ran a 60 amp sub into my garage a year ago. The run was also about 60' away from the 200 amp main, and I used #4 THNN. Using a chart located on the Internet, it appears you will need to go to a #2 or #3 THNN.

The following capacities are for copper conductors with THWN, THW or XHHW insulation:


Individual conductor ampacities - 75C temperature rating

#10 - 30 amps

#8 - 50 amps

#6 - 65 amps (can be protected at 70 amps)

#4 - 85 amps (can be protected at 90 amps for outbuildings. If this sub-panel is in a dwelling #4 may be good for 100 amps - see notes below)

#3 - 100 amps

Please see the notes at the end regarding wire ampacities and temperatures!

Number of conductors needed

For various reasons, it is best to run 4 conductors. This would be two 'hots', one grounded conductor (neutral) and one equipment ground (bare or green).


Remember, usually it is best to have a qualified electrician come out and give you on scene advice.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Minnesota
Bookmark this Page!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Suggested Threads

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.