Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > New York > New York City
Click Here to Login

Old 10-20-2010, 02:23 PM  

Houston, TX
Places to stay, best time to visit NYC?

I've always wanted to visit New York, the falls, Adirondacks, and NYC. Guess I've never done it b/c I've heard its an expensive place to visit. Any tips on the best time of year to stay, and where to stay on a budget?

Old 11-15-2010, 06:41 PM  

staten island, new york
I'd say the best time to visit is whenever I'm on vacation, so I don't have to deal with even more tourists. Ha ha, just kidding. Definitely christmas time. There's so much to see, Saks, Macy's, Radio City. I've been working in manhattan for almost 20 years, and Christmas time is still the only time of year where my breath is taken away. As a bonus, if you're into being herded into cages and peeing on yourself and being puked on, stay for New Years in Times Square.

Old 11-16-2010, 06:54 AM  

Manorville, New York
I think the best time to visit the city is anytime after Thanksgiving. The city around Christmas time is wonderful. If you do visit at that time of year the show at Radio City is a must see.
Old 11-17-2010, 11:41 AM  

Brooklyn, NY
NYC - Between Turkey Day and Xmas. Adirondacks are best in the late summer early fall (if camping) or fall if you've got a cabin. (Possibly one of my favorite places). Never been to the falls...
Old 11-22-2010, 11:54 PM  

+1 for Christmas. If you plan on driving up north I'd recommend the fall (for the foliage) OR the summer for camping in the Adirondacks and if you make it to the falls, def. check out Niagara on the Lake.
Old 11-23-2010, 12:36 AM  

Boston, 02127
Hi Big Burb,