Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Pennsylvania
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-15-2010, 07:41 PM  

Harrisburg, PA
I'm a brewer and just recently bought one of those bucket 6 gallons of juice wine kits to make some italian pinot grigio. If that kit goes well I'll make a batch of amarone which is $40-$50 for a cheap bottle. So I figure if I can make a half decent amarone for $100-$120 a batch of 30ish bottles then I'm a happy guy.

Old 11-16-2010, 06:04 AM  

Sergeantsville, New Jersey
Going to be about 30 people in my little house for Thanksgiving.
Most of them coming for the beer.

And my wife's cooking.

Old 11-16-2010, 07:32 AM  

Blue Bell, PA
i've been brewing for about 2 years. havent been able to do it in a while since i broke my leg a few weeks ago.
Old 11-16-2010, 12:25 PM  

Frederick, Maryland
Any of you within a decent drive of the Baltimore area may want to check out the MD Homebrew group on Homebrewtalk.com . Our next get together is Dec 7 I think, we have a few folks from PA that join us, it's really a PA, MD, NJ, Delaware get together.
Old 11-16-2010, 03:48 PM  

York, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by labpaws View Post
I have never done any meades..they can br dry or sweet i do know. Hard to find commercial mead to buy, but some places sell it. Maybe ask a local homebrew store, i know the one i go to sometimes has some of his to sample
A number of local vinyards make mead. For example, Mt Hope (where they have the PA Renaissance Fair) makes and sells their own. They carry a sweet honey mead, as well several "honey wines", fruit wines mixed with honey mead.

I've also seen some local meads on occassion in the State Wine and Liquor stores, in the Pennsylvania section.

BTW, I have no affiliation with Mt Hope; I'm just a customer there! :-)
Old 11-16-2010, 03:56 PM  

York, PA