Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-07-2010, 11:06 AM  

Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Kegerator?

I'd like to start brewing beer but I have 2 problems. I don't want to wait 2 weeks extra to add carbonation (by dropping more yeast in my beer after it's been fermented) and my second problem is I don't have money for a kegerator of any kind. So, my question is, any of you who came from the home brew forum and live in allegheny/armstrong/indiana county area have an old kegerator (pref still working) that you'd give away/sell cheap?

Or, a better question/answer would be what are some other methods of adding carbonation?

Here's hoping! haha

EDIT: I'm fairly new to brewing so if my question seems a little like it lacks knowledge, that's because it is. If I said something incorrect, please feel free to correct me.

Old 12-07-2010, 02:01 PM  

Springville, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider87 View Post
I don't want to wait 2 weeks extra to add carbonation (by dropping more yeast in my beer after it's been fermented)
First, generally you aren't adding yeast after fermentation. In a beer, the alcohol isn't usually high enough to kill off all the critters. You often add a bit of sugar/malt at bottling time to give the little buggers a shot in the arm. With kegging you can speed the process off by force carbonating, but still its generally better (IMHO) to let this process run its natural course. I think you get better results.

Old 12-07-2010, 03:10 PM  

Kittanning, Pennsylvania
That's a good tip, thanks craig. I have been trying to find time to give this all a shot but haven't gotten there yet. I think I'll go ahead and try it sugar/malt bottling way for my first attempt and see how I like it.

Thanks!
Old 12-08-2010, 06:03 AM  
bja

Butler, Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigowens View Post