Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Religion / Philosophy
Click Here to Login

Old 07-10-2011, 05:04 AM  

TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldruggedcrosser View Post
You are wrong about being written to scare people. It was written to tell people who are lost in their sin that there is away for getting beyond the punishment that sin has coming.

Also it is too bad about being required to preach 10 sermons on tithing, because tithing is a Old Testament Jewish thing and was never transferred over to the Gentile church. Sorry to say that has run it's fair share of people off just because they wrongfully make money a issue. That is why I am a published Author of a book dealing with that very subject. Just in case you are interested it is still available at Amazon. The name of my book is "Subtle Deception" How False Teachers Betray Christianity, While Enriching Themselves. It is a Biblical critique of the Gospel of Prosperity and it contemporary evangelists. Yes it is a shameful plug.
I was baptized a spring morning in 1957 before a Baptist congregation of about 1,000. The little envelopes which were pre-printed and delivered to all members of our church had a small block to check which stated "Tithe" and another which stated "Donation." They were readily available at the front of the sanctuary. I guess the word didn't get around.

Old 07-10-2011, 01:29 PM  

ORC;finally theres something we can agree on. The subject of your book.

Old 07-11-2011, 08:08 AM  

Southern Baptist churches are autonomous with no outside requirements for sermons. The individual churches are only affiliated with local associations, state and national conventions.
Old 07-11-2011, 03:51 PM  

TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
Southern Baptist churches are autonomous with no outside requirements for sermons. The individual churches are only affiliated with local associations, state and national conventions.