Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Religion / Philosophy
Click Here to Login

Old 02-26-2011, 06:04 PM  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blank_doubt View Post
I'm a Pantheist:
Belief that God rests or resides in EVERYTHING.
It is my understanding that Pantheism is the belief that God "is" everything, not "in" everything. To state that God is "in" everything would put forward that the two exist, God and everything (universally), but pantheism rejects that both exist. Pantheism attest that there is no God but that God "is" the universe and everything in it.

Maybe you're a different kind of Pantheist. I'm no expert on the matter myself. Your other opinions on why you are that kind of a pantheist are interesting as well.

See below:

Definitions of pantheist on the Web:

* someone who believes that God and the universe are the same
* of or relating to pantheism
wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

* Pantheism is the view that the Universe (Nature) and God are identical, or that the Universe (including Nature on Earth) is the only thing deserving the deepest kind of reverence. The word derives from the (') meaning "All" and ' ('') meaning "God" - literally "All is God. ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pantheist

* pantheism - (rare) worship that admits or tolerates all gods
* pantheism - the doctrine or belief that God is the universe and its phenomena (taken or conceived of as a whole) or the doctrine that regards the universe as a manifestation of God
wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

* pantheism - The belief that the universe is in some sense divine and should be revered. Pantheism identifies the universe with God but denies any personality or transcendence of such a God; The belief in all gods; omnitheism
en.wiktionary.org/wiki/pantheism