Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > California > San Diego
Click Here to Login

Old 12-09-2010, 08:35 AM  

Cincinnati, Ohio
Possible Relocation

My wife and I are considering a relocation in 2011 and of course San Diego is on the list, but neither of us have ever been there. We just hear stories about how perfect the weather is, but also how expensive it is too. Keep in mind, I've lived in Cincinnati my entire life, and as I typ this it's currently 17F outside. If I never saw snow again, I'd be a happy man!

We're planning a vacation/recon mission sometime in early 2011, but would love suggestions for particular areas to see and/or avoid. Money will be the deciding factor, and we're worried we won't be able to afford anything bigger than a closet. I work in IT and my wife will graduate from nursing school as an RN next June.

Any suggestions or ideas would be helpful.

Old 12-12-2010, 12:32 AM  

San Diego, CA
First off, I'm assuming you came here from the homebrewtalk forums like me, based on your username. There are a lot of homebrewers in the area which means a lot of homebrew clubs. When you're out here, try to time it so you can visit one so you can visit one and get a feel for the people.

I've only lived in California (San Diego and near Sacramento) so I don't know what to compare the cost of living to, but there is definitely a wide range of housing available. Obviously the closer to the ocean you are, the more expensive. The closer to the core area of San Diego, the more expensive. The nicer areas, more expensive. I think you're right to come and scope it out. Check out redfin.com or zillow.com to see what the general house prices are, which even if you rent, roughly carries over. The public transportation here sucks, so you can mostly assume you'll have a drive commute. Most people I know have a 15-45 minute commute so feel free to look further north or east where prices might be less.