Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Texas > San Marcos
Click Here to Login

Old 03-16-2013, 11:02 PM  

Anyone around? Moving to San Marcos from San Antonio with lots of questions...

Hi everyone;

This San Marcos forum seems pretty quiet... I hope someone is still around reading and responding because I have had a hard time finding much of the information I need up to this point.

We live in San Antonio currently (and have been here for most of our lives) but we are planning a move to San Marcos this summer. I am currently a commuting Texas State student and I have one year left before graduation. My wife (we are a same sex family FWIW) is transferring to Texas State in the fall and will have a bit longer to graduate. We also have my 20 year old son living with us ( full time community college student here in SA), our 15 year old son and our 10 year old daughter, plus pets.

So as you can see, we are students, but a long way from the typical Texas State student, seeing as how we are non-traditional students with older kids.

We have many questions but our focus right now is on housing and schools for the younger two. Our knowledge of SM is limited to what I know from being there a few times a week, so, not much at all! I tend to only have time for class and not much exploring. We would like to know if there are any areas we should avoid in our housing search, what the deal is with this single family zoning thing and if it will affect us, what's the best way to find a rental home or duplex (prefer to avoid apartment complexes) yet still hopefully be able to use the Texas State shuttle, and any input on the schools.

Are there "good" and "bad" neighborhoods? If so, how bad are the "bad"? We have a limited budget for housing.