Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Texas > San Marcos
Click Here to Login

Old 07-07-2007, 07:17 PM  

Springs are UP!

Heya folks,

As you may have noticed, we all now live in Costa Rica, or Seattle Washington...that is if you have been tracking average rainfall of late. Kinda nice after a 5 year drought. I have been doing some investigative scuba diving for about 6 months now, taking measurements along the river at different places. Measuring depth, temp, visibility, and fish population. I'm happy to report that the river is thriving.

I checked out the springs by taking a glass bottom boat ride, and was amazed. The low pressure springs called "Cream of Wheat" was percolating in mass, and the circumference of the area had increased significantly from this same time last year.

Not to be a doom-bringer, yet the development and growth slated for this area is a little scary. Considering the demand on the aquifer continues to increase, not decrease, we should all consider water conservation as a way to live and do our part to preserve this great river. (climbing down off soapbox now). Anyway, it's nice to see everything so green in July in Texas - hasn't been this wet since 1959.

Old 07-10-2007, 08:07 AM  

San Marcos
I'll second the conservation thoughts. Growth or no growth, we ought to all be concerned about our water. I'm not sure what the town would be like without the San Marcos River.

I'm in the process of replacing our Saint Augustine lawn with Bermuda and I only cut it to 3-4", which shades the soil and promotes deeper roots. That's my green thumb tidbit for today.

Old 07-13-2007, 04:03 PM  

Subtle Conservation

Water is the next oil boom. Consider the rate at which water is naturally filtered.