Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Texas > San Marcos
Click Here to Login

Old 02-12-2008, 11:02 AM  

Vote for Vision!

Texas State is making a push to go from FCS to FBS football. By increasing the athletic fee $2 per year, over the next five years, we can help make this a reality. It's a good move for the entire university. Like it or not, an FBS football program brings more notoriety and will improve our enrollment and quality.

Students vote here:

http://www.studentaffairs.txstate.edu/voting/

Old 02-12-2008, 12:17 PM  

San Marcos
Fortunately, I'm a former student, so I don't need to get too heavily involved in this, but I would question the notion that it will bring money to the university.

The report that was presented to the school, which identified what would have to be done to move up, was pretty clear that this was going to be an added expense, not a source of revenue. The report also said that to be competitive, the school would need more money from the city, probably via hotel taxes.

http://www.sanmarcosrecord.com/archi...333114629.html

Quote:
However, support from student fees is a necessary but not sufficient condition for FBS football. The committee cited strong evidence suggesting that institutions which have moved to the FBS based primarily on student fees have charted a course to the bottom tier of FBS competition. For a transition to a truly competitive program, a funding pattern showing a balance between student fees and other sources of revenue is essential.
At least then, we could all say that the university would be nothing without the city.

:-)

Old 02-12-2008, 02:02 PM  

Hey the move to Division IA from Division II, was such a positive move for the football team, why not? After 20 or so years the football program is competitive again why not go back to the cellar? Those old National Championships were overated anyway.
Old 02-12-2008, 02:30 PM  

San Marcos