Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Technology
Click Here to Login

Reply
Old 08-14-2011, 11:11 AM  
Where am I ????
 
paddyboy2u's Avatar

Calgary, Alberta
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,364 | Kudos: +34
Images: 5
This is cool, I just did my I-Phone and this is the results.
How fast is your internet?-image-3381677068.jpg 

__________________

__________________
What's that mean???.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 10:22 PM  
Live From Mars
 
Mark-Ohio's Avatar

Fairfield County, Ohio
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14 | Kudos: +10


(HSI Pro DSL)
__________________

__________________
Fairfield County Weather - Lancaster, Ohio USA
www.fairfieldcountyweather.com
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 10:27 AM  
Senior Member
 
mrmurdoc34's Avatar

Stafford, Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 582 | Kudos: +55
Images: 1
Must be having a bad day at work. Gonna have to look into this.

__________________
I'm not Sheldon! I'm the Flash! And now I'm going to the Grand Canyon to scream in frustration *takes two quick steps* I'm back
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 11:02 AM  
MRB
Senior Member
 
MRB's Avatar

Sacramento, California
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 389 | Kudos: +56
It appears so far that Comcast rocks.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:37 PM  
Senior Member
 
mrmurdoc34's Avatar

Stafford, Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 582 | Kudos: +55
Images: 1
Take into account that I have business class comcast. Which runs faster than most of the regular comcast customers.
__________________
I'm not Sheldon! I'm the Flash! And now I'm going to the Grand Canyon to scream in frustration *takes two quick steps* I'm back
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 03:08 PM  
MRB
Senior Member
 
MRB's Avatar

Sacramento, California
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 389 | Kudos: +56
Still with my speed test as well as yours, even though it's business class, the speed came out pretty good compaired to others. I only have one step above the basic service in internet speed here in my home office that I run my business out of.

I think in my case however, that being 3 blocks from the Comcast RT and the fact that Comcast, the year before last, changed out all the aerial terminals here to new digital types helps alot for my speed.

Genreally in my experience coaxial cable tends to smoke twist pair technology every time when it comes to speed and quality of digital signal. Only hook up I know faster is fiber to the prem., like Verizon (used to be GTE), Frontier (used to be Citizens Utilities), and Surewest ( used to be Roseville Telephone) does out here in Cali.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 03:37 PM  
Senior Member
 
mrmurdoc34's Avatar

Stafford, Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 582 | Kudos: +55
Images: 1
At my home I am one trunk amp off the node. The node is where the comcast cable interfaces with the backbone. So I always had Blazing fast speed at home. But we had to leave comcast because they kept raising the rates and what not. I miss it and might get it hooked back up for my xbox and some other stuff I do.
__________________
I'm not Sheldon! I'm the Flash! And now I'm going to the Grand Canyon to scream in frustration *takes two quick steps* I'm back
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:26 PM  
Senior Member
 
mkfarnam's Avatar

Duncan, Oklahoma, (formerly So, California)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 613 | Kudos: +15
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1450268919.png

What's the average?

It always seemed fast enough for me.

Mine seemed to have speeded up

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1450282203.png
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 09:06 AM  
Member

O'Fallon, IL
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37 | Kudos: +11
From work:


From Home (wifi):
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 04:48 AM  
Senior Member
 
mrmurdoc34's Avatar

Stafford, Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 582 | Kudos: +55
Images: 1
I will need to do a new one from work as I have moved to a different school after I took a promotion.
__________________

__________________
I'm not Sheldon! I'm the Flash! And now I'm going to the Grand Canyon to scream in frustration *takes two quick steps* I'm back
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Technology
Bookmark this Page!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Suggested Threads

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.