Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Technology
Click Here to Login

View Poll Results: Your computer choice?
Desktop 4 30.77%
Laptop 9 69.23%
Notebook 0 0%
Other (Droid, IPad, etc.?) 0 0%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Old 07-21-2011, 08:24 AM  
Senior Member
 
havasu's Avatar

California
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,747 | Kudos: +238
Images: 17
What is your primary computer?

I'm curious to find out what others use to access the Internet, and what you like or dislike about your choice?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 08:33 AM  
Mr. Happy
 
RiponredTJ's Avatar

Montreal, Quebec
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,908 | Kudos: +139
Images: 7
MacBook Pro, and I really can't think of anything I dislike about it.
Biggest plus for me is stability, ease of use and low risk of catching a virus.
__________________

__________________
Алекс says don't drink and derive
.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 08:56 AM  
AZ Resident

Surprise, Arizona
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 90 | Kudos: +18
A little quad core desktop I slapped together. Next is an old Dell Lat D410 and a 400 depending on if I'm running wireless or not.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 10:19 AM  
MRB
Senior Member
 
MRB's Avatar

Sacramento, California
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 389 | Kudos: +56
A custom built Quad Core desktop with 10 TB hard drive. Have 6 cheap Fujitsu laptops in work trucks for employees to use for work related tasks.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 02:59 PM  
I Sank Your Battleship
 
ChrisNukemYJ's Avatar

Tucson, Arrenizona
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,810 | Kudos: +57
Images: 39
My Compaq CQ61 with an AMD vision core running windows 7

250GB hard drive with a mild 5GB RAM.
__________________
This definitely rates about a 9.0 on my weird-sh*t-o-meter.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:38 PM  
mohel
 
blucher's Avatar

Keizer, OR
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,383 | Kudos: +123
Images: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRB View Post
A custom built Quad Core desktop with 10 TB hard drive. Have 6 cheap Fujitsu laptops in work trucks for employees to use for work related tasks.
10 TB hard drive is huge. Is your backup that large? I'm using 3 external hard drives for triplicate backup. I never trust them not to fail in the next day or two. Been burned before.
__________________
I'll believe corporations are persons when Texas executes one.: LBJ's Ghost
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:41 PM  
I Sank Your Battleship
 
ChrisNukemYJ's Avatar

Tucson, Arrenizona
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,810 | Kudos: +57
Images: 39
10TB is supercomputer grade.
__________________
This definitely rates about a 9.0 on my weird-sh*t-o-meter.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:44 PM  
Senior Member
 
mrmurdoc34's Avatar

Stafford, Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 582 | Kudos: +55
Images: 1
It depends on where I am at.

Right now I am on my Macbook Pro. What I don't like about it is the small HDD and it only has 1 gig RAM. My personal laptop is a monster 17.3" Toshiba with 4gig of RAM 500gig HDD and windows 7. I love it. It runs great and I have little to no problems with it.

At work I had a cheap off brand computer with a p4 256mb of ram and an 80 gig HDD. TALK ABOUT SLOW. Now I just got 125 BRAND new HP 6200 with CORE i3 processors 4 gb RAM 320GB HDD and what windows XP pro (FACE PALM).

The main house compter is an HP with 8gb RAM 2TB HDD AMD processor a 23" HD monitor and running win 7. It has given me a few problems. Most of all with Best Buy Geek Squad and their inability to correctly diagnose ANYTHING.

Oh and then there is my media Center. It is an older Gateway GM5088 with 2 gb RAM 1TB HDD. It is older and slower but its still a darn good machine. It gets hooked up to my 42" plasma for streaming revision3.com and twit.tv.

I need to upgrade my monitor display to two 24" Widescreens at work I think.
__________________
I'm not Sheldon! I'm the Flash! And now I'm going to the Grand Canyon to scream in frustration *takes two quick steps* I'm back
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:47 PM  
ɹoʇɐɹǝpoɯ ɯnɹoɟ
 
VaporLung's Avatar

VA
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 728 | Kudos: +47
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisNukemYJ View Post
10TB is supercomputer grade.
10TB is asking for drive failure. I have a SAN array of over 40+ 1TB drives. I think I have a drive failure at least once every couple of months.

Thank goodness for RAID6
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 06:07 PM  
MRB
Senior Member
 
MRB's Avatar

Sacramento, California
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 389 | Kudos: +56
Use 8 TB for uncompressed movie and music files (mostly blu ray movies) for surround sound theater room. Remaining 2 TB is for office files, auto cad (full version), operating system,etc.., and used as remote server for laptops in work trucks which are all over the state. Is a 64 bit, has 4.00 GB of ram, a MSI Big Bang mother board, Intel i7 960 processor overclocked to 3.40 GHZ, Zotac GeForce GTX 470 video card, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatality sound card, and a 1200 watt power supply. Intell engineer bud of mine built it for me just over a year ago and it works fine. Most stable set up I've ever had. It's speed is insane and smokes every other computer my friends kids have for gaming so far. Video and audio signals are run to theater room closet with HDMI and TOSS link cables which interfaces with AV system thru "dumb" keyboard and mouse in theater room.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Technology
Bookmark this Page!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Suggested Threads

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.