The Howell Depot, built in 1886, serviced the Ann Arbor Railroad which carried passengers as far north as Frankfort and Elberta and as far south as Toledo, Ohio. On July 19, 1950, the last regular scheduled passenger train pulled out of the station going to Elberta.
In 1968, the Howell Area Historical Society Livingston, then called the County Historical Society, acquired the depot from the Ann Arbor Railroad. After renovated the depot, the Society turned it into a Museum that showcases artifacts and other pieces depicting the history of the town.
Today, visitors to the Museum can step inside and see the emporium, which is a replica of a general store from 1890.* They will also get to see the displays that feature a wide range of aritfacts, from paper collars to mustache cups and high button shoes.* Inside the Museum, there is also a pioneer corner and the stationmaster's office that still holds an old telegraph key. Other artifacts to be seen here are hand-operated signal levers and an interesting collection of lanterns and historical railroad items.*
Those who would like to enrich their knowledge on history can also view the Museum?s historical artifacts that include items related to WWI and WWII.
|Howell Area Historical Society & Depot Museum Pictures|| Add Picture|
|Howell Area Historical Society & Depot Museum Videos|| Add Video|