Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Ohio Statehouse Rating: None

Ohio Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Columbus Email This Bookmark Print
The seat of government of the state of Ohio is housed at the Ohio Statehouse in the capital city of Columbus. This edifice contains the executive offices of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Treasurer, and Auditor. It also houses the legislative chambers of the Ohio General Assembly.

Unlike other state capitols that were patterned after the United States Capitol in Washington, DC, the Ohio Statehouse is a design of its own. Instead of a dome, this building has a conical roof. Rows of Greek Doric columns adorn the fa?ade. The main material used in the construction was local Columbus limestone quarried from Scioto River. A central pediment supports the cupola, which lights the interior rotunda.

The main architectural style is Greek Revival with elements borrowed from other styles. For its historic, political and architectural importance, the Statehouse was added to the National Historic Landmark on July 31, 1972.
Edit Article

Ohio Statehouse Pictures Add Picture

Ohio Statehouse Videos Add Video