Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Sheffield Island Lighthouse Rating: None

Connecticut Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Norwalk Email This Bookmark Print
The Sheffield Island Lighthouse is a historical lighthouse in Connecticut located at the southern end of Norwalk Island. The island was once owned by Captain Robert Sheffield when he bought it in 1804. The government purchased the parcel of land for the construction of lighthouse from Sheffield?s grandson Gershom Smith. In 1828, the 30-foot lighthouse ran by oil was completed.

During late 1850s, the lighthouse was upgraded to fourth-order Fresnel lens to improve its functionality. The structure was also renovated to Victorian style in 1868 and its height was extended higher from 30 feet to 44 feet. When the Greens Ledge Light started to operate in 1900 in the Western part of Sheffield, the lighthouse stopped operating in 1902.

Today, it has been recognized by the National Register of Historic Places in United States. The Norwalk Seaport Association administers the lighthouse. It offers tour packages such as Bird Watching Educational Tour and lighthouse cruises.

The popular ?Murder Mystery ? Double Trouble? is a cruise from New York to Capri in USS Sheffield ship. It includes entertaining mystery game for everyone in the ship while there are iconic characters in the cruise such as Lady Parks, Detective Philo Vance, and the Count.

The Sheffield Island Clambake cruise is famous for its New England fine dining experience in the lawn while tourists can also take a tour inside the lighthouse. There is also the Sunset harbor Cruise which sails from Norwalk Harbor to Long Island Sound. There is also regular ferry trip schedule which docks at Seaport Dock in South Norwalk.
Edit Article

Sheffield Island Lighthouse Pictures Add Picture

Sheffield Island Lighthouse Videos Add Video