Probably one of the most picturesque neighborhoods not only in Washington D.C. but the entire United States, Georgetown?s numerous brick houses fashioned in the Federal aesthetics and tranquil cobblestoned streets have attracted a number of prominent government dignitaries. Just a stone?s throw away from the Potomac River and in close proximity to downtown Washington, Georgetown was able to maintain a unique and inherent personality and vibe.
The first residents of Georgetown settled here in 1703, back at a time when the area was still called Rock of Dambarton. The immigration boom which happened all throughout the 1700s dramatically expanded the borders of the neighborhood which prompted the government to declare it as a town called George Town in honor of King George II. Its proximity to the Potomac River has transformed it to a bustling tobacco and flour trade epicenter which fed more into the development of the area. This continuous progress elevated the status of the place and in 1789, it was officially declared as a city and was since then named Georgetown. The addition of a new harbor and the creation of the C&O Canal triggered more development and finally, Georgetown was annexed to Washington D.C. through a Congress charter. However, floods and railways competition started the decline of the bustling district.
It was in the 1950s that Georgetown experienced a breath of new life when it started attracting young rich individuals. The most well-known was then novice senator John F. Kennedy who moved from one brick house to the next. The last abode that they resided in was 3307 N Street where he lived with his wife Jackie Kennedy. They lived here until 1961 then moved to the White House when JFK was elected president.
Arguably the most scenic street in Georgetown in N Street which is planed with beautiful well-maintained brick houses constructed in Federal Style. This type of residential aesthetics is very much alike to the Georgian Style, but has for finesse and became iconic for America?s new identity.
The most antiquated house in Georgetown is the Old Stone House which is situated at M Street. The structure was constructed in 1765 and is the only surviving building in the United States made before the American Revolution. It was purchased by the government in 1953 and was renovated by the National Park Service in 1960. The public can visit the house all throughout the year.
Another attraction within Georgetown is the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal. Today, the canal is non-operational and serves as a recreational facility where guests can hike and hop on board canal vessels drawn by mules.
The nearest metro stop to Georgetown is Foggy Bottom which is a mile away from M Street.