Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Food / Drink
Click Here to Login

Old 11-10-2010, 04:38 AM  

Sarnia, Ontario
Hey Steve,

Yeah I make wine at home in Sarnia. I had been making it at Wine Kitz for a couple of years but now that I am retired I decided to make it at home myself. Lots more hands on like this and am able to set my own schedule regarding filtering and bottling etc.

Currently am using juices from Costco as it is very inexpensive and quite good. Got a couple of batches of white wine juice on sale at $25 per batch this week (Sauvignon blanc and Pinot Bianco). This works out to about $1 per bottle so you can't get much more inexpensive than that.

Regards
Terry

Old 11-11-2010, 12:06 AM  
Special Agent

Fennville, MI
We seem to run low on red wine for a blender and white wine for stripping and making Cranberry and Red Currant wine (made from concentrates added to finished wine), so are able to purchase bulk tankerloads of wine from California at $2.75/ gallon. that's 55 cents a bottle, before freight, but still a good buy.

My mom used to see me making wine in my bedroom with a gallon jug and a tube going into a glass of water (bubbling) and asked me what that was? I was a Junior in HS and I told her don't pay any mind to that Mom, that's just a scientific experiment. So got my first "hands" on winemaking back in 1970 and still seem to make a little bit.

Old 11-11-2010, 09:12 AM  

Paron, Arkansas
So what is the price of getting started making wine? I am thinking about making mead.
Old 11-12-2010, 04:24 AM  
Special Agent

Fennville, MI
Try making regular grape wine first, and you'll have better success. Welches concord grape juice will turn out something similar to Moga David wine. I always felt that Concord, with it's "grapey" flavor, probably was best slightly sweet.
Old 11-13-2010, 10:19 PM  

Paron, Arkansas
Thanks Gibbs. Is there a place online to buy a kit for wine.