Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Food / Drink
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-03-2011, 05:51 PM  
Mr. Happy

Montreal, Quebec
I worked in the hotel industry for 10 years and gratuities were par for the course when we were serving larger parties.

I always found that the wait staff would work really hard to please customers knowing that they were assured of a reasonable tip. And generally, they would get their gratuity plus additional cash tips from appreciative customers as a result.

As for a 53 buck tip for a table of six, I guess that would depend on the venue, the menu, the final tally and the quality of the service.

When I go out for a nice dinner with my wife, the bill usually runs me about 250, so I tip about 35 to 45 for the two of us.

Old 03-03-2011, 07:39 PM  

Dublin, CA
15% is standard for food & restaurants
$1 a drink at a bar
$5 for a valet on a regular car
$20 for a nice car
$50 if the car is worth the same as a house

With that said. Rude servers get no tip, but the service has to be VERY crappy. I have only once not left a tip because the waiter not only offended my girlfriend but the other couple that was with us.

Old 03-04-2011, 06:49 AM  
Homebrewer

Lindstrom, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by blucher View Post
In this economy 10% doesn't buy much unless your bill is sizable. We're all free to tip as we see fit but waitresses & elephants have something in common.
10% doesn't buy much at all. But I won't pay for crappy service. I go out to eat to have a good time. If my waitstaff is ruining my good time, they're compensated less by me.
Old 03-04-2011, 06:53 AM  
Homebrewer

Lindstrom, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin View Post
It's as mandatory as the prices listed for food items.