Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Food / Drink
Click Here to Login

Old 12-03-2010, 05:14 AM  

North Charleston, South Carolina
Mead anyone

Any mead makers on the forum? I'm just getting started in this hobby. One batch so far, not bad.

Old 12-03-2010, 12:38 PM  
ian

Pendleton, SC
I make some every year or two. 5 gallons of mead goes a long way

Old 12-06-2010, 10:04 AM  

Charleston, SC
I've made one batch about 3 -4 months ago that I haven't tasted yet.

Unfortunately, I made it on a hunch. I've never actually tried mead before. I like honey in my alcohol - I like the honey bourbons on the market, and I like honey beer recipes, so I figured I'd try mead. Can't find anywhere local to buy it though, so I did a batch myself .

My fear is once I crack open that batch if I DON'T like it I won't know if I just don't like mead, or if I just didn't do a good job of making it .

Either way I learned a good bit in the process. First batch (just 1 gallon) was just pretty plain honey-only mead. I think in another few weeks I'm going to make another 1 gallon batch of vanilla metheglin with some cinnamon sticks added for flavor.
Old 12-06-2010, 02:44 PM  

Greenville, SC
ian and MGMorden, what was your process? I've thought about making some myself...
Old 12-06-2010, 03:31 PM  

Charleston, SC
My process was from a VERY basic recipe I found online. Not sure how the results will be, which is why I want to do another batch "properly" to see how it turns out (this one hasn't aged enough to try yet).

Basically, you need: (from memory)

1 gallon spring water
1 box of raisins
3 lbs of honey (preferably unprocessed)
a ballon
1 packet of yeast (recipe actually calls for bread yeast, though you can use better yeast if you have it)