Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Hawaii
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-24-2011, 07:48 AM  

Soonerville, Where the wind come blowing down the range
Opportunities

I am a nurse with a wife wanting a warmer climate. Since this is the only state I have not been too I was just wondering what the employment opportunities look like in comparison to the cost of living?

Old 01-25-2011, 01:11 AM  

Honolulu, Hawaii
There ARE a shortage of nurses here in Hawaii.

The hours may be LONG, and I am not sure of the pay. When my Late Mother was in the hospital five years ago, I remember visiting her in the morning, and the same nurse was there in the EVENING! I asked the nurse how many hours she was here, and she said she puts in 16 hours a day! So expect that. Paywise, I checked for you, RNs make about $4250 - $8000.00 per month!

Cost of living, Hawaii is the most expensive state to live in. Some calls it "The price of Paradise". I call it ridiculous! And I AM an Islander 99% of my life. And I give you an example. To ride the bus back in 1968 was 10 cents! Then around 1972 and up, it went up to a quarter. That stayed a long time till the 1980s. 50 cents. Then $1.00. then now it is $1.50! Bus pass was $15.00 a month back in the 1980s. NOW? $60.00! Gas is around $3.58 per gallon and up, depending on which island you decide to live.

Rent here are also expensive, and we pay the highest morgages I guess in the entire United States.

If you need some links for local (Hawaii) hospitals for nurse job openings, I can do that for you.

And Hawaii is tropical, like southern Florida, without the many thunderstorms. You can go to the beach on Christmas and New Years Day!

Old 01-25-2011, 04:40 PM  

Honolulu, Hawaii