Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-15-2010, 10:20 AM  
Vrrooomm

Quincy, Illinois
CompTIA A+ Exam

So I'm going in for my first A+ exam today, the 220-701 Essentials exam. I studied as best as I could with the material I purchased. Got the CompTIA A+ 2009 In Depth book (ISBN-13: 978-1-4354-5489-7) authored by Jean Andrews and studied the crap out of it for the past 2 months. Just wish I had some practice tests or something because I feel like I'm going into it blind as a bat.

Wish me luck!

Old 09-15-2010, 11:55 AM  

Honolulu, Hawaii
Good luck man, and let us know how it goes!

https://luckylucy.scentsy.us/Scentsy/Buy
Old 09-15-2010, 12:44 PM  
facepalm

Minot, ND
i have not the slightest clue what you are talking about, but i wish you the best of luck!
Old 09-15-2010, 01:52 PM  
Vrrooomm

Quincy, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake7 View Post
Good luck man, and let us know how it goes!
Passed with a score of 875/900. That's a 97%. Yeesh... all of that studying really paid off! I have to take the 220-702 next Wednesday, it's the exam which covers the practical aspects of A+ certification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepcache
i have not the slightest clue what you are talking about, but i wish you the best of luck!
The CompTIA A+ certification measures your ability to upgrade, diagnose, and repair computer related equipment. There's an essentials exam, which I just took, and it covers your knowledge of common computer equipment, printers, media, customer service, and basic networking. Then there is the practical exam, which covers applied theory in those areas.

It's a pretty basic certification, but I plan on getting my Network+ next, then off to get some vendor specific certifications from Microsoft and Cisco.
Old 09-21-2010, 01:12 PM  
Vrrooomm

Quincy, Illinois