Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > California > San Jose
Click Here to Login

Old 11-22-2010, 04:10 PM  
Supporting Member

San Jose, CA
San Jose Homebrewers

So that we don't completely hijack the other thread, I thought it'd be a good idea to continue the growing homebrewing discussion here. What are you brewing right now? How long have you been doing it?

I got started last January when a friend gave me his entire setup. I've brewed 8 or so batches so far and I'm addicted! Right now I have a bock lagering, a wheat IPA fermenting, and a pale ale on tap. My specialty, if you could call it that, is a robust porter. Most of my recipes are either entirely my design, or another recipe that I've altered to suit my tastes.

Old 11-24-2010, 12:19 PM  

San Jose, CA
Currently I have a honey wheat on tap, a brown ale in secondary and an oatmeal stout in secondary. My wife and I have been brewing for almost two years and lately have been brewing quite a bit, especially since our setup keeps growing.

Old 11-29-2010, 03:11 PM  

Bay Area, California
does san jose have a homebrewshop?
Old 11-29-2010, 03:23 PM  
Supporting Member

San Jose, CA
I've used Fermentation Solutions in the past. It's not the friendliest outfit and their prices are high, but they're close.

I usually go out of my way to go to MoreBeer in Los Altos. Waaay better prices and service.

Edit: you can't tell, but I've inserted hyperlinks.
Old 11-29-2010, 06:16 PM  

San Jose, Ca
I just head up to MoreBeer in Los Altos, or occasionally over to Beer & Wine Makers in San Jose on Brokaw. I like MoreBeer better because of their forum and ning sites.

BTW there is an excellent brew club that is based out of the MoreBeer shop, called Worts of Wisdom. They're a great bunch, and and have been really great, even with people like me who rarely show up due to kid and other activities...
Old 11-30-2010, 12:17 AM  

Bay Area, California