Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Texas > San Marcos
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-11-2005, 03:36 PM  
Outside college student

Wow, sounds like the zoning is a big issue in San Marcos. My daughter is a college student, and we are moving there in the fall so she can attend. I can understand the frustration of not being able to have several roommates to keep costs down. However, as a homeowner myself, I can surely say that I worked my butt off to get my property and am very glad I worked as a strong neighbor to keep my property values increasing. I need that money to buy a new house in San Marcos. I would not be able to make the move if, due to neighbors "trashing" the street, the values went down. I live on a street where 2 houses are owned by college students (2 per house - and it can be sold after they graduate so they can take advantage of the property increases) and 2 rented homes and all is well. I think the fines come in because the neighbors, fellow students, and homeowners (renting to college students) aren't doing what they should. Fines of such a high amount discourage people from putting 3-4 per house. I was in San Marcos this past week, and noticed great groups of college students enjoying 4th of July. I also noticed some party flyers and loud college students. It was my impression (and based on my experiences in college) that the loud, drinking college students will be leaving after a few years and don't care (which causes trash, excessive noise, vandalism, and crime). If you disagree w/me, perhaps you are a more respectable student than some that are causing the zoining needs, or you plan on staying in San Marcos, were raised by your parents to care about your education and have respect for others, or were too drunk to recall what you did last night. Perhaps other alternatives would be to double the tax for the homeowners who rent to