Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > United States City Forums > Washington > Seattle / Tacoma
Click Here to Login

Old 12-21-2010, 01:23 PM  

Seattle, WA
Immersion or Inverse Wort Chiller

Let's get this discussion started.

I'm a little new to the brewing scene and I've just wonder what your take on this is. Is the Inverse/Counter Flow Wort Chiller better than the Immersion Chiller. Please only people that have tried them or read a lot about them.

Old 12-21-2010, 03:07 PM  

Marysville, WA
Chillers

With the counterflow type you get the benefit of a much quicker chilling timeframe. This is great if you have a way to filter out the trub during the runoff from your kettle and saves a lot of time on brew day.
The immersion type allows the wort time to settle and if you do a whirlpool prior to transfer you get a lot less extra precipitate in your fermenter.
One other drawback of the counterflow is that unless you have a pump you are limited to the siphon effect of gravity to get the wort through your counterflow.
I hope this helps.

Old 12-22-2010, 07:54 AM  

Seattle, Washingtoon
What advantages do you want?

Quicker cooling=counterflow
easier to use=immersion
easier cleaning/sanitizing=immersion
less water usage=counterflow
less cost=immersion
less storage space=counterflow
Old 12-28-2010, 06:59 PM  

Hillsboro, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis View Post
Let's get this discussion started.

I'm a little new to the brewing scene and I've just wonder what your take on this is. Is the Inverse/Counter Flow Wort Chiller better than the Immersion Chiller. Please only people that have tried them or read a lot about them.
Immersion cools the whole batch, but after it cools the wort down a bit, it becomes inefficient and ends up taking more water. You put the coils into the boiling wort, so it is more sanitary.