Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site Rating: None

Louisiana Attractions / Landmarks / Places > St. Francisville Email This Bookmark Print
Rosedown Plantation is a cotton plantation in the 1800?s. The owners, Daniel and Martha Turnbulls patterned it on the luxurious gardens they saw on the in trips on France and Italy. The name was taken from a play they saw during the honeymoon.

The main house, constructed in 1834, showcases the finest furnishings available in that era. Many of the imported furnishings are still encased in the estate. Rosedown displays the immense prosperity and wealth of the Turnbulls. As a matter of fact, it was one of the elite formal gardens and privately maintained estate. The members of the Turnbulls family sold the whole plantation to Catherine FonderWood in 1956.

An 8-year restoration period ensued. Being an amateur horticulturist, she was enthused by the idea of restoring the luxurious house and the formal gardens. The renovation was conducted by Ralph Ellis Guinn with the aid of Martha?s Garden Diary. Plants that are no longer available were propagated from the surviving plant of the gardens. To this date, the 13 historic buildings and the 371-acres of the Rosedown are considered historic site of the Office of the State Park. Staffs of the State Parks and local volunteers unite to maintain the plantation.
Edit Article

Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site Pictures Add Picture

Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site Videos Add Video