Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Kandiyohi County Museum Rating: None

Minnesota Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Willmar Email This Bookmark Print
The Kandiyohi County Museum, also known as the Sperry House, was constructed in 1893. This site back then was the farm of Albert H. and Jennie Sperry. A.H. Sperry was born here in 1840 and he continued to live in the area until he passed away in 1917. He was also considered as one of the pioneers settlers and soldier during and after the Dakota Conflict of 1862. Teacher and housewife Jennie Wilson Sperry, lived here into the 1920's as well as in other Willmar residences until her deaths in 1953.

The Historical Society house was acquired in 1970, after the death of Bryan, by the youngest son of the Sperry couple. The House features downstairs rooms, which are restored and open to the public in 1976. The daughter of Albert and Jenny, Grace Sperry Redfield, even served as a hostess.

The Museum today showcases some of the Society's collections. Visitors to the Museum will be able to view the the bedroom set, sewing rocker, china, doll buggy and other items that the family originally owned. It also houses an original W.m Jennings Bryan in the hall. In 1993, the Museum celebrated the Centennial of this old home
Edit Article

Kandiyohi County Museum Pictures Add Picture

Kandiyohi County Museum Videos Add Video