Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Gould and Curry Mining Company Office Rating: None

Nevada Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Virginia Email This Bookmark Print
The Gould and Curry Mining Company Office was built in 1860 exuding a simplified brick Italianate style of architecture. It is one of the several imposing buildings in Virginia City that were built y capitalists who became wealthy through Comstock silver and gold. Aside from providing company office space, the structure also provided accommodations for the Company Mine Superintendent.

The building boasts of 3 stories and it is surrounded by a wood veranda and deck supported by a colonnade of square posts. It has a 500-gallon, gravity-flow water tank for running water an and 1874, an earl water heater was installed as well. The structure was first inhabited by George Hearst, a young mine superintendent. He made his fortune on the Comstock with starting money of $400 in borrowed funds.

The structure withstood the Great Fire of 1875 and soon after, it was turned into the local business headquarters and brief residence for John Mackay, one of the most powerful and wealthy people on the Comstock. Mackay donated millions of dollars to the School of Mines at the university of Nevada. He also contributed to the establishment of the transatlantic cable.
Edit Article

Gould and Curry Mining Company Office Pictures Add Picture

Gould and Curry Mining Company Office Videos Add Video