The Old Barracks Museum, also known as Old Barracks in Trenton, New Jersey, is the last remaining British Army barracks from the Revolutionary War in the United States. It is the last of five such barracks permitted by the colony in 1758 to house soldiers in the Indian and French War. It was home to about 300 soldiers at one time. George Washington crossed the Delaware River to catch the Hessian garrison by surprise during the American Revolution.
The building collapsed into disrepair, until in 1902 it was bought by a small group of well meaning women who founded the Old Barracks Association and re-opened the building as the Old Barracks Museum in October of 1903.
In 1914, the building was given to the State of New Jersey to be maintained, backed by the barracks association and a distinct blend of private, public and personal financing. You can read the Law of 1917 and the Deed of 1914 validating the historical obligation of the state to fund the Old Barracks. The building was fully restored in 1915-1916 and again in 1995-1998.
Today, the old barracks serves as an educational institution for Colonial and American History, and stands as the last remaining structure of its kind. The Old Barracks personnel offer daily tours and interpretations of the American Colonial era. The building offers a museum of weapons and artifacts, as well as a novelty and gift shop.
The men and women of the Old Barracks have been consistently recognized as some of the best interpreters in the business. Through their commitment, passion and dedication, the past is brought back to life for thousands of visitors each year.
Nearly 20,000 school kids and thousands more people from all over the globe tour the Old Barracks Museum every year, making it one of the most visited places in New Jersey and one of the most valuable historic landmarks in the United States.