Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

Shakespeare Ghost Town Rating: None

New Mexico Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Lordsburg Email This Bookmark Print
The Shakespeare Ghost Town used to be a bustling mining town in the 1800s. It was called various names through the years. It was first called the Mexican Springs, then renamed Grant, and then Ralston City. The name Shakespeare was only introduced in 1879. The town was abandoned in 1929 when the mines closed, leaving not a lot of income sources for the residents.

Today, the Shakespeare Ghost Town is privately owned. It is, however, open to visitors, although interested parties should check first before going, as schedules tend to vary largely.

Visitors can take a good look at a series of 19th century buildings, including the saloon, mail station, hotel, blacksmith shop, assay office, and a general store just to name a few.
Edit Article



Shakespeare Ghost Town Pictures Add Picture



Shakespeare Ghost Town Videos Add Video