Home Forum Gallery Members Todays Posts

May Museum and Park Rating: None

North Carolina Attractions / Landmarks / Places > Farmville Email This Bookmark Print
The May Museum and Park, named after one of the colonial families of Pitt County, exists for the preservation and interpretation of the Farmville area history. The 19th century house was bequeathed by Tabitha DeVisconti to the Town of Farmville in 1983. After a renovation process, the Town opened the facility as the May Museum and Park in 1991.

It was built by James Williams and Tabitha Bynum May in 1854. Major Benjamin May, James? grandfather, lived in the area south of Black Swamp during the colonial period. He was known for the promotion and motivation of his community.

The Museum features an extensive collection of quilts from the 19th and 20th century and they are featured on a rotational basis. Some of them are signed by their makers as well. The Museum also displays the back kitchen that was moved from the family farm upon the construction of the house. It boasts of its original interior that includes a walk-in fireplace. Visitors will also be able to see furniture from the 19th century in this area.

Among the Museum?s collection are North Carolina etchings of Louis Orr. They are in the process of being framed for display at the Farmville Public Library.
Edit Article

May Museum and Park Pictures Add Picture

May Museum and Park Videos Add Video