Declared as a National Historic Landmark in 1968, the Eleazer Arnold House is one of the few remaining 17th century properties in Rhode Island. It was constructed around 1693 in Lincoln for Eleazer Arnold.
The building is quite unique as it is one of those stone-ender types of construction that are originally from England and are only built in the northern parts of Rhode Island. Experts attribute this fact in relation with the work of the popular mason, John Smith, who was from Smithfield, RI.
Today, the Eleazer Arnold House is under the care of the Historic New England, as a donation in 1919 from the Preserved Whipple Arnold. Two major restorations have been made to the property and the most recent one removed alterations to make the house look like the way it was in the 1600s. It is also open to the public twice a year.