A historic preservation of a colonial farm in Middletown in Newport County, Rhode Island, the 40 acre Prescott Farm offers a brief look at the early American architecture and landscape harmonious setting. The public can have a tour on the farms historic 1812 windmill and visit the revolutionary war guardhouse and know the variety of herbs and vegetables that would have been grown in Colonial Garden, showcased buildings and several walking paths.
The Prescott Farm was founded in the 18th century and according to some sources, the farm was originally named as Overing and Page Farm in Portsmouth, Rhode Island and was founded by the brother Thomas Nichols and Edmund Nichols in 1650 which by 1654 moved to Newport giving it no clear information if the two farms are the same.
Doris Duke?s Newport Restoration Foundation bought the land where the Prescott Farm is located. While not most of the farm area is not accessible to the public since certain properties are already privately owned there is still a portion of the Prescott Farm that is still open to the public.