Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > National Politics / Debate
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-13-2011, 08:41 AM  
Traveler

Quote:
Originally Posted by opheucus View Post
The U.S. has OVER 750 military bases around the Globe.
Russia has 3
China has 2
The U.S. spends as much on military as the next 10 countries COMBINED!
Add ALL of China's military expense to ALL of Russia's military expense, then add Pakistan, India, ALL of the U.K., N. Korea, Iran, Israel, Venezuela, and......
You get the picture.
On TOP of THAT add all of the foreign aid (of which Israel gets the most) and you have to wonder what really is going on in Washington that we have to lay off Firemen, police, EMS, and teachers, close schools and entire cities, and steal my retirement money I have been paying to the gov't for over 35 years.

You young guys, and some of you older guys, don't realize it right now, but you will one day, much like myself.
When I was fresh I was perturbed about all the money I paid into FICA every week.
I figured I could use that money NOW, not in 45 years, geez. Who knows if I'll even be around to collect it then?
Last year I was working on a job and had an accident.
I am permanently disabled now.
I just turned 50 the week before.
I didn't know what I was going to do. I didn't have a big bank account to fall back on, just a little money for a rainy day; and boy was it raining now.
In less than 3 months I was found to be disabled by SSD and it took 6 months to get my first check from them.
I get $1800 a month to live on now.
It's not a lot of money friends, but I thank the Godz that it is there.

Let's hope you never need it before you retire and live out your golden years playing golf.
But IF you do finds yourself in my position, you'll be glad you socked that money away, even when you didn't want to.