Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Off Topic
Click Here to Login

Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 06:09 PM  
The Amish wolfman...
 
Otahyoni's Avatar

Terre Haute, Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 746 | Kudos: +53
Need some CB help...

My CB radio in my ranger is picking up a lot of interference/noise from the fuel pump running. I've routed the antenna cable as far from the fuel tank as possible and it didnt make any difference. I know i've got a good clean ground at both ends of the cable.

What else can i do to reduce/eliminate the noise?

With the truck off it's as quiet as could be and i've got excellent range...
__________________

__________________
I am known by many names:
Otahyoni, Otah, Utah, Chris, Steve, Fred, The Amish Wolfman, and Mark's Little Buddy...
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:14 PM  
mohel
 
blucher's Avatar

Keizer, OR
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,383 | Kudos: +123
Images: 99
Quote:
CB Radio RF Noise Suppression

The following dialogue occurred with John, a JU member that I was exchanging on-line posts with while he was attempting to reduce the RF noise in his TJ when he was installing his CB radio. With his permission, I am including it here since I believe it is both valuable info and it gives others a glimpse at just what can be involved in trying to clean up a noisy RF environment in a vehicle.
RF Noise Supression

Screwdriver Experts Guide to Peaking Out and Repairing CB Radios

By Lou Franklin
Screwdriver Experts Guide to Peaking ... - Google Books


has-anyone-installed-a-cb-in-a-2011-without-getting-lots-of-noise
Has anyone installed a cb in a 2011 without getting lots of noise? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

fuel-pump-noise-with-cb-radio

Fuel Pump Noise with CB Radio - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Fuel Pump Noise In CB Radio; NEED HELP!
Fuel Pump Noise In CB Radio; NEED HELP! - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

pump-cb-noise-filter
Fuel Pump CB Noise Filter - Anyone Used? - JeepForum.com

Crutchfield:
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_003S15A...S-15A&skipvs=T
American International's S-15A noise filter is designed to eliminate noise that comes in through your in-dash receiver's +12-volt power line. Installation is simple. You have three wires to connect: two go on the power line and the other goes to ground. Mounting hardware is included. Warranty: 1 year. [$12.99]
Need some CB help...-h003s25ap.jpg 

__________________

__________________
I'll believe corporations are persons when Texas executes one.: LBJ's Ghost
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:29 PM  
Where am I ????
 
paddyboy2u's Avatar

Calgary, Alberta
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,364 | Kudos: +34
Images: 5
First off Chris, check to see that your power wire to the C.B. is not running close to any other wires as it will pick up any RF noise from them. Also check where your getting the power from (I.E. if you are tapped into the fuse box on another fuse), as that will also pick up RF noise. you should try and wire direct to the battery but run them away from any other wires that carry a fair size current. If you have done all this and still have the noise while its running you can get from a C.B. radio dealer a RF noise reduction filter tha goes on the main power line and that should hopefully elliminate it.
I hope this helps.
Here are a couple of pics to what some of the filters look like.


__________________
What's that mean???.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:34 PM  
Senior Member
 
havasu's Avatar

California
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,747 | Kudos: +238
Images: 17
CB radios are obsolete. They have been replaced by smoke signals!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:54 PM  
The Amish wolfman...
 
Otahyoni's Avatar

Terre Haute, Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 746 | Kudos: +53
I talked to a Crutchfeild rep about that filter and he couldn't say if it's work since they don't deal in CBs.

I know for sure that the noise is coming in through the antenna cable, and is caused by the fuel pump.

This seems like the best fix for me: RFI issues in the Ford Explorer

Going to try the fix with chokes, and if that doesn't work, I may try to use a capacitor on the power wire to the fuel pump....


Oh yea, the first thing i'm doing it removing the paint under my mount...
__________________
I am known by many names:
Otahyoni, Otah, Utah, Chris, Steve, Fred, The Amish Wolfman, and Mark's Little Buddy...
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:57 PM  
The Amish wolfman...
 
Otahyoni's Avatar

Terre Haute, Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 746 | Kudos: +53
Ah Mark....

Paddy, the power wire is clean, and straight from the battery.

Per Cobra's FAQ, i eliminated the 12VDC power lines from the source of the noise.

See line 2 in my above post...
__________________
I am known by many names:
Otahyoni, Otah, Utah, Chris, Steve, Fred, The Amish Wolfman, and Mark's Little Buddy...
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 10:03 PM  
Where am I ????
 
paddyboy2u's Avatar

Calgary, Alberta
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,364 | Kudos: +34
Images: 5
The second picture is a in line antenna that might help.
This unit will allow you to receive more signal while reducing noise brought in through the antenna. Easily installs in-line between radio and antenna. Reduces noise received at the input of the radio, improves dynamic range of a receiver and removes source noises which are radiated through the antenna.
__________________
What's that mean???.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 12:29 PM  
mohel
 
blucher's Avatar

Keizer, OR
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,383 | Kudos: +123
Images: 99
"the first thing i'm doing it removing the paint under my mount..."

You might want to think about getting a direct smoke to html converter too.
Need some CB help...-smoke-signals6.jpg 

__________________
I'll believe corporations are persons when Texas executes one.: LBJ's Ghost
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 04:10 PM  
The Amish wolfman...
 
Otahyoni's Avatar

Terre Haute, Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 746 | Kudos: +53
Removing the paint didnt help. The chokes didnt help much.

I think i'm going to have to live with it...

Thanks to those that helped
__________________
I am known by many names:
Otahyoni, Otah, Utah, Chris, Steve, Fred, The Amish Wolfman, and Mark's Little Buddy...
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 04:21 PM  
JCJ
RENT-a-MOD

Webster, New York
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 654 | Kudos: +38
Images: 5
A couple of tips,

1) Run your fused power wire straight to the battery, put the fuse as close to the battery as possible.
It wouldn't hurt to run the ground straight up as well. I use over sized high quality wire.

2) Only use high quality coax like Beldon RG58X which is 95% shielded, also make sure your antenna has a proper ground plane and is tuned with an SWR meter.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Off Topic
Bookmark this Page!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.