Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > Business / Investing
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-10-2011, 06:43 PM  

Honolulu, Hawaii
Restaurant starting

Hey guys-

I get out of the Corps in 2013, and am dead set on starting a restaurant with my wife and children. I've got the funding figured out thanks to the incredible VA business loan program.

What I'm up in the air about is whether to start my own from scratch, or to buy an already established business.

I'll be open as far as location, although ultimately I'd like to keep it to suburban locations or small city downtown locations.

Anyone have any first-hand experience?

https://luckylucy.scentsy.us/Scentsy/Buy
Old 06-11-2011, 09:11 AM  
Mr. Happy

Montreal, Quebec
I worked in the hotel industry for over 10 years but never opened a restaurant.

Up here many many restaurants are here one day, gone the next. I think that might be because they try to cater to the latest trends instead of relying on the tried and true formula of excellent food, excellent service and reasonable price.

I guess location is going to be vitally important as well. You need to be where the people are, don't expect the people to come to you.

Old 06-11-2011, 12:05 PM  

Honolulu, Hawaii
Yeah, most hotels go under in the first 6 months of them even starting. It's pretty intimidating, I'm not going to lie. However, I'm not expecting fluffy clouds and roses. One thing I won't accept, though, is failure - hah that's the Corps speaking through me.

I've got about a year and a half to research and get everything ready to go. I want to start it within a year of me getting out, so that'll give me some more time to get prepared and get used to whatever area we end up in.

Before the Corps, all I did was the restaurant business. I bounced around being a waiter, cook, dishwasher, bus boy, fast food - pretty much everything but management.