Go Back   CityProfile.com Forum - Local City and State Discussion Forums > General Discussion > National Politics / Debate
Click Here to Login
Register Members Gallery Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-22-2010, 12:01 PM  
southern conservative

Austin, Texas
Don't Ask Don't Tell

Ok, so I'm a veteran. I work in veteran benefits. My life is surrounded by both active duty and veterans. This is one of those cases that really make my head hurt. I know people on both sides. I know a gay guy that is in the military, good guy, good solder. I know that he has LOOKED at other guys in his unit, but never said or did anything. After all it?s natural. I saw many women in my unit that I thought were hot, even hit on a couple. But here is the problem. If a guy hits on a girl or vice versa it?s not that big of a deal. It could be though. If you hit on a girl and she complains it could get you into trouble. But in the end if she isn?t game it?s no big deal. But if a guy hits on another guy and that guy isn?t gay it?s a huge difference. It makes the heterosexuals feel uneasy. It creates all kinds of mental conflicts in the group. I know service members that would get out if the DADT act is overturned. These service members know who are gay, but the law keeps them from flaunting it. It makes them hide it so that they seem hetro. That keeps the peace. Once the law is repealed then what is to keep the homosexual from hitting on a heterosexual that he might think is gay? What happens when you have that one guy that is all gungho from going nuts when he sees the gay guy prancing around like a girl? And don?t say they don?t. Right now they don?t because they can?t.